top of page
  • Writer's picturejindalyashkindacoo

A rainy day

The rain pelted against the windowsill. It almost felt like the glass was about to shatter into a million tiny pieces, but it did not. It must be strong like me, I thought lying in my warm and comfy bed, away from the rain. I hated rain. It was so cold and icy, and in most movies and books, rain is just used to depict gloom and sadness. I like the sun, warm, and bright, ready to fill my day with sunshine. I could then also go outside, and play cricket with my friends! But with the rain pouring down, all I could possibly do today, was stay inside and do some boring work.


“Aman!” My mom called from downstairs. “It’s your friend Karan! He’s come over to play!”. I jumped out of bed, quickly put on some new clothes, brushed my teeth and was downstairs in a record time of 30 seconds! It was amazing! I had never thought of this idea of going to someone else’s house if it was raining outside. I could finally have fun on a rainy day after all, it seemed as I led Karan to my room.


“Hey Aman, let's go explore in the attic!” said Karan. “It’s so mysterious and spooky and so fun to play in there”. I couldn’t agree more. But the thing was, that my parents didn’t allow me to go in there because we had recently just shifted in this house, and my parents hadn’t themselves had time to go up to the attic. They told me it could be dangerous.


“Aman!!” My mom called from downstairs. “Your dad and I are going out for groceries, we might not come back before the rain stops! Have fun!” Then there was the sound of the door thudding as it was shut closed.


Karan and I looked at each other with the same gleam in our eyes! This was our golden chance to explore the attic, and we were not going to let it slide. Side by side we made our way up the stairs.


Gah! It was locked!!! We searched up the whole house for the keys, but alas, our attempts were futile. “We’ll just have to do something else”, I muttered to my friend.


“Let’s just play video games”, Karan suggested. So we made our way to my PS4, only to find out that because of the rain, the light had suddenly gone out. Now we couldn’t even do anything online, like watching netflix, or playing video games. This was turning out to be a real bummer.


Then we decided to just try playing cricket inside the house because we couldn’t find anything else to do. We were finally having a good time. But it just seems to happen that I was the most unfortunate person in the world, because as Karan bowled, my reflexes kicked in, and I hit the ball with a lot of power. It soared into the air, ricocheted from a wall and crashed into an expensive light bulb which immediately shattered into a million pieces of glass.


We both turned to face each other, and realized that the only option left, was to play boardgames. But it was boring. Too boring to handle, and weren’t even getting any exercise. We were frustrated beyond imagination and I thought that having fun on a rainy day wasn’t possible after all.


But then a miracle happened, and the rain gradually slowed down, and then stopped!! Woohoo! Now I could finally go out and play in the park with my friends. But wait, now I had to do my homework! After that I realized, I might not have been able to enjoy myself while the rain was pouring, but the sun would have to come out sometime, and then I could finally enjoy myself. I learnt that I should do the right thing at the right time, and should not have wasted my time trying to have fun while it was raining. If I had done my homework while it rained, I could have played when it was sunny!


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Disease (written age 10)

I was sick, and wanted peace, but instead of that, I got another disease! The doctor said that it was quite serious, But I thought that he was simply delirious. I thought what could possibly happen to

bottom of page